NEW YORK ACTOR


Bern Cohen

NEW YORK ACTOR BERN COHEN… I’m pumped.

1 – Tickling Leo with 91-year old Eli Wallach, debuts this Saturday at Long Island’s Stonybrook Film Festival. My Long Island friends & fam can see me in a small role but please know that all my lines are in Hebrew. I play a visitor from Israel. I don’t really speak Hebrew. We shot my role line-by-line with one of the stars, Ron Guttman, coaching me line-by-line. He’s Israeli. That was great fun, even though stars like Annie Parisse (Law and Order) were in the scene and watching me learn and struggle. The film has its NY and Long Island theater debut on 9/4.

2 – I’m thrilled to be part of a new musical debuting in The New York International Fringe Festival The Secret of Our Souls: A Kabalistic Love Story, is based on the life of the Baal Shem Tov, a spiritual master considered to be the founder of the Hasidic movement.   I play Beryl, a robber/thief who meets up with the Baal Shem Tov. Sorry if I disappoint you by not playing the Baal.  That role calls for a tenor.  I’m a baritone (my excuse).  But, I have three solo songs and I really get to mad rock out on one of them, a la Joe Cocker.  I also sing in 8 other numbers with others. Come see me. $15.00, cheap to see me roar like Joe.  I’m thrilled to have this fun opportunity to wail. Now looking at 3 solid weeks of rehearsals and line learning.
Minetta Lane Theater (400+ seats), 18 Minetta Lane (Greenwich Village).
Sat. 8/15 @ 10:15 PM
Sun. 8/16 @ 5:15 PM
Mon. 8/17 @ 4:45 PM (this performance follows religious law -no women singing this show)

Wed. 8/19 @ 7:30 PM
Sun. 8/23 @ noon

This is a big opp for me in the musical theater world.  You can help.

If you can be there for one of the first two shows to help us sell-out those nights, the Festival will extend us.  All musicals get 5 shows but if you sell out, they give you 3 more and give you the buzz that can help get this show to a theater after the Fringe Festival.

Avenue QSwimming Upstream, and Urinetown all started in recent Fringe Festivals and went on to do well on Broadway and all over the country.  The talented writers of our show wrote about 20 of the Sesame Street songs we all know and love. Monday will fill up with religious folk.  We need you there Saturday and Sunday, pleeeeez. Here’s a link to more info and tickets.
http://www.fringenyc.org/seeing/tickets.asp

3 – You can still catch me almost daily on HBO in 27 Dresses.  And, if you’ve seen it and missed me, you only have to re-watch the first ten minutes to catch me as the Rabbi of the Jewish-Hindi wedding starring Kathy Heigl of Grey’s Anatomyand Knocked Up.

4 – We finished shooting Holy Rollers starring Jesse Eisenberg (Adventureland) and Justin Bartha (The Hangover).  My largest role in a star-studded film. I’m their Rabbi who turns them in after learning they are Hasidic drug dealers.  After today’s real news about the money laundering Rabbis, I’m no longer worried that Hasids will protest this film.

5 – Finally, please check out my updated imdb page.  It helps me when you do that, too.
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1788789/

Happy Summer and love to all,

Bern

You’ll always miss 100% of the shots
you don’t take.
Wayne Gretzky

Leave a comment

Filed under 1

Leave a Reply

