Lou Albano Gone But Never Forgotten 2009


Obit-Captain Lou AlbanoFrank_DAmico_srLou albano

Captain Lou Albano                 Frank D’Amico Sr.         Captain Lou

You cannot forget Lou Albano, I remember him back when I was a child, Lou was very good friends with my father “Frank D’Amico Sr.”  Lou use to come to our house in the Bronx with my dad. Lou use to get on his hands and knees and give us kids horsey back rides on his back, we had so much fun with him, and there was always lots of laughter when Lou Albano was around.

My dad use to hangout with Lou and he use to take me and my brother with him to Lou’s bar on Provost Ave, it was a little hole in the wall place, but it was a great place for us kids to have some fun back then.

bruno sammartino

Lou use to cook muscles for all the guys, and one day the wrestler Bruno Sammartino came down to the bar and he played the piano for everybody with me sitting on his lap. I will never forget those special moments in my life. My dad loved his friend Lou Albano and Lou Albano loved my dad, they were good friends in the 60’s.

wrestler capitain lou albano & singer cyndi lauper

Capitain Lou Albano and Singer Cyndi Lauper

Cyndi Lauper credits Lou Albano for bringing her song to the Top Of The Charts “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun”  Captain Lou played her dad in the music video in the 80’s. The music video “link” above can only be seen on YOUTUBE just in case you wanna watch the video.

Captain Lou Albano is gone but he’ll never be forgotten, he was 76-years-old when he died at his home in Carmel, New York with his loving family and wife Geraldine of 56-years by his side.   Lou Albano was suffering from heart complications from a recent illness.  For Funeral Details or more information.

Lou Albano WWF

Lou Albano Gone But Never Forgotten 2009

Month In ReviewCheck It Out

Leave a comment

Filed under 1

Leave a Reply

